Skip to content

Pita Pizza

August 24, 2010

Pita pizzas are one of the easiest things to make. It’s my go-to meal when I am too lazy to cook, but still want something delicious and homemade.

Ingredients

pita
canned marinara  sauce
mozzarella cheese, shredded
your choice of toppings
olive oil

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Drizzle olive oil on bottom of pita. Top pita with marinara, cheese, and other toppings. I decided to top mine with Roma tomatoes and a dash of Italian seasoning.

3. Cook for 15-20 minutes or until the pita is slightly crispy.

I wanted to add a little pop of flavor to my pizza, so when the pizza was done cooking, I drizzled it with a balsamic reduction.

1. In a small pan, bring balsamic vinegar to a boil. The vinegar will reduce by about half, so measure vinegar accordingly. (I wanted mine to be a little sweeter than normal, so I added a tablespoon of sugar to the balsamic vinegar.)

2. Reduce heat to a simmer and stir until balsamic vinegar has the texture of syrup. I started out with a few tablespoons of vinegar and had more than enough to drizzle over my pizza. Since I didn’t use that much vinegar, it only took a few minutes to reduce.

So delish! The balsamic reduction really makes a difference.

No comments yet

Leave a comment