Skip to content

DIY: Revamp that Lamp!

September 1, 2010
tags: ,

It always gets me when I see a designer selling a simple product for hundreds of dollars. Products that you know took less than $10 and 10 minutes to make, but since the product has their name on it and some fancy words in the item description, they will have people “ooo-ing” and “ahhh-ing” over it.

Prime example: These lamps by designer Ryan McElhinney.

These lamps are “coated in Polyurethane spray finish” (aka spray paint) and “made to order from £500″ ($772.25 US). Seriously? I mean, I get that there are people who don’t have time to do their own projects and use money like it’s toilet paper, but there is just something in me that can not justify a purchase like that.

Here is a lamp I found at the thrift store for $3.00. I’m pretty sure I had a few of these around my house in the 80s. You might search around in your parent’s attic, who knows, you may get lucky and find an old lamp for free!

I taped off the electrical cord and light switch and put a few coats of red spray paint left over from another project. After the paint dried, I topped the lamp off with a $2.00 shade from Ross.

So there it is – my $5 lamp. What do you think? Should I try selling it for $500?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Audrey permalink
    July 8, 2012 11:18 PM

    girl! i came from your other blog (directed from my 1st result google search “how to reupholster a chair”) and you have talent! why did you stop posting?

    • July 10, 2012 7:34 PM

      Thanks so much! I decided to take a break from blogging, but have started up fresh at: homeawayfromhoma.blogspot.com. I hope to update the new blog more frequently. 🙂

Leave a Reply

